It served the Trier electors, who lived in nearby Koblenz, as a hunting and pleasure palace. The prominent position on the banks of the Rhine as well as the magnificently decorated “Diana’s hall” are among the special features of Engers Palace.
Presumably, the new foundation of nearby Neuwied Palace in 1648 and the coming into being of the palace there were the reason that the previous castle Kunostein which was built starting from 1371 had to make way for the new construction of Engers Palace in its place. Kunostein was completely demolished as a reaction to the building activities of the counts of Wied, after modernisation of the castle complex had in the meantime been thoroughly considered. A new late Baroque complex emerged from 1758 to 1762, which is well preserved today. It served the Trier electors, who lived in nearby Koblenz, as a hunting and pleasure palace. The prominent position on the banks of the Rhine as well as the magnificently decorated “Diana’s hall” are among the special features of Engers Palace. Today, this “gem of late Baroque art” is a versatile event location with a hotel and catering of outstanding reputation. In addition, since 1995 the state foundation Villa Musica, which trains young chamber musicians, has had its seat in the magnificent building.
Die Rezeption ist täglich von 7:30 Uhr bis 22:30 Uhr für Sie da: 02622 / 9264295, rezeption at schloss-engers.de Das Schlossmuseum mit dem Saal der Diana ist an Sonn- und Feiertagen von 11-17 Uhr zur Besichtigung geöffnet. Von Montag bis Freitag können Sie tagsüber nach vorheriger Anmeldung einen Blick in den Saal der Diana werfen. Führungen werden nach vorheriger Anmeldung arrangiert. Ansprechpartner: Jan Höfer M.A. 02622 / 9264265 Restaurant Schloss-Engers: Montag - Freitag täglich ab 18 Uhr Samstag ab 15 Uhr Sonn- und Feiertage ab 12 Uhr