Plan a route here

Arnstein Monastery

Church · Lahntal · open
Responsible for this content
Lahntal Tourismus Verband e. V. Verified partner  Explorers Choice 
  • Kloster Arnstein über der Lahn
    / Kloster Arnstein über der Lahn
    Photo: Dominik Ketz
  • / Kloster Arnstein, Obernhof
    Photo: Dominik Ketz
  • / Kloster Arnstein
    Photo: Domink Ketz
Both the view from above into the Lahn valley and from the river to the monastery are unique
Arnstein Abbey towers high above the Lahn in a fantastic location. Both the view from above into the Lahn valley and from the river to the monastery are unique. A monastery shop is open every day. The history of the monastery dates back to the second half of the 11th century: in 1052, a Arnstein castle on the Lahn as the seat of the Count of Arnstein was first mentioned. It is the oldest mention of a castle on this river, of which only remains of walls remain that do not allow any conclusions to be drawn about the appearance of the complex. In 1139, Ludwig III, the last count of Arnstein, converted his castle into a Premonstratensian monastery and entered there himself. His wife lived as a Klausner near the monastery until her death. The partial demolition of the castle began in the same year. In 1145, King Conrad III confirmed that the abbey was directly linked to the Reich. Since 1236 there was also a branch monastery under the patronage of the Nassau count or prince's house, the Keppel near Hilchenbach. The monastery church was completed in 1360. The architectural style is Staufic Romanesque, which is also known as the Rhenish transition style. The choir is already full in the early Gothic style. The church contains individual components that can be dated to the 12th century. Monastery shop open every day. Orthodox services can be visited in the monastery chapel. Catholic services in the sanctuary twice a month. Access: footpath and road, car park at the monastery. Access for the disabled possible. Pilgrimages Information about pilgrimages for groups and individual pilgrims at

Open from

open today
Open Aug 28, 2019 through Jan 01, 2023 from 10:00–18:00.


50.310238, 7.851611
50°18'36.9"N 7°51'05.8"E
32U 418230 5573756
Arrival by train, car, foot or bike

Routes to this place

16.4 km
4:56 h
355 m
355 m
Show in map

Nearby Points of Interest

 These suggestions were created automatically.

Questions and answers

Ask the first question

Do you have questions regarding this content? Ask them here.


Write your first review

Help others by being the first to add a review.

Photos from others

Arnstein Monastery

Arnsteiner Straße
56377 Seelbach
Phone (0049)2604943479
  • 2D 3D
  • Contents
  • Show images Hide images
  • 1 Routes nearby
Hiking Trail · Rhein-Lahn-Kreis
Klosterweg bei Bremberg
Top moderate open
16.4 km
4:56 h
355 m
355 m

from Daniel Schmidt, VG Aar-Einrich,   Lahntal Tourismus Verband e. V.
  • 1 Routes nearby