Both the view from above into the Lahn valley and from the river to the monastery are unique
Arnstein Abbey towers high above the Lahn in a fantastic location. Both the view from above into the Lahn valley and from the river to the monastery are unique. A monastery shop is open every day. The history of the monastery dates back to the second half of the 11th century: in 1052, a Arnstein castle on the Lahn as the seat of the Count of Arnstein was first mentioned. It is the oldest mention of a castle on this river, of which only remains of walls remain that do not allow any conclusions to be drawn about the appearance of the complex. In 1139, Ludwig III, the last count of Arnstein, converted his castle into a Premonstratensian monastery and entered there himself. His wife lived as a Klausner near the monastery until her death. The partial demolition of the castle began in the same year. In 1145, King Conrad III confirmed that the abbey was directly linked to the Reich. Since 1236 there was also a branch monastery under the patronage of the Nassau count or prince's house, the Keppel near Hilchenbach. The monastery church was completed in 1360. The architectural style is Staufic Romanesque, which is also known as the Rhenish transition style. The choir is already full in the early Gothic style. The church contains individual components that can be dated to the 12th century. Monastery shop open every day. Orthodox services can be visited in the monastery chapel. Catholic services in the sanctuary twice a month. Access: footpath and road, car park at the monastery. Access for the disabled possible. Pilgrimages Information about pilgrimages for groups and individual pilgrims at https://st-martin-ems-nassau.de/beitrag/wallfahrten-zum-kloster-arnstein/
Open Aug 28, 2019 through Jan 01, 2023 from 10:00–18:00.